Society of Political Science Students Hosts SRC Election DebateGeneral

SRC candidates debate pertinent issues affecting students.SRC candidates debate pertinent issues affecting students.

Students of the School of Social Sciences, who form part of the Society of Political Science Students (SOPPS), hosted their second successful debate on the Howard College campus in the run up to Student Representative Council (SRC) elections.

With SRC elections being important for student leadership and governance, the debate offered students the opportunity to listen and deliberate with others.

SRC candidates who presented their manifestos to the crowd of students were Ms Kuhlekonke Ntuli, Mr Mayibongwe Mngomezulu, Mr Sizwe Msweli, Mr Warris Asmal, Mr Thobani Zikalala and Mr James Ndlovu.

The bulk of the debate was on student issues, leadership and the #FeesMustFall student movement.

Asmal of the Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) Student Command called for collective leadership to champion the interests of students and to fast-track the progress of the #FeesMustFall student movement.

Mr Sizwe Msweli of the Democratic Alliance (DA) Student Organisation pointed out the importance of free and secure education; equal opportunity; transparency, and accountability within the SRC. ‘Most importantly, we want free education for all throughout South Africa,’ said Msweli.

The candidates outlined their understanding of leadership, and expressed their concerns about the misuse of assets and resources for personal gain.

An example of the SRC budget was used while South African Student Congress (SASCO) candidate Ntuli provided evidence on the success of SASCO, such as bringing back more than 3 000 students who were financially excluded.

Regarding transparency and outreach, the candidates called for the use of a UKZN platform for communication purposes.

The event drew a large student audience providing opportunities for them to pose structured questions to the candidates before casting their votes.

SOPSS plans to host another SRC election debate next year.

Melissa Mungroo and Reatlehile Karabo Moeti